Goals for 2017

I know these sorts of posts are more one for January, but personally I always find myself in a slump over January, so deciding what my main goals are for the year tends to fall quite low on my list of things to do. By Feburary however, I’m ready to set my sights on what I what to achieve before another year is out. So here is my ‘Goals for 2017’ list.

 

  1. Find an agent to represent my children’s book

For those of you that follow my social media, you will know that last year I wrote a children’s book. I don’t want to give too much away, but it is about a subject I’m quite passionate about and something that I feel is really important to discuss in current times.

 

Goals for 2017 - Finding an agent

 

2. Write two more children’s books

I’m always brimming with ideas and love finding little rhymes to explain them. I have a few ideas that I’m building on at the moment, so I’m hoping to complete two more works before the end of the year.

 

3. Go self – hosted

I already own my URL for my blog, so in that sense I am self hosted, but I wanted to make my blog exactly how I want it. At the moment some of the coding in my blog post headers isn’t quite SEO compatible and my blog isn’t the most mobile friendly site either, which is another big no, no. So I’ve hired a web developer to build my site from scratch, rearrange it all and fix all of those pesky SEO errors that comes with my theme. It also means that I can incorporate the new things we are looking to develop, such as our travel section and our YouTube channel that focuses on family travel, which will be launching in the summer. My blog has grown a lot since the launch 17 months ago, so I’m really looking forward to see how it continues to develop.

 

Goals for 2017 - Improving the blog

 

4. Learn more about SEO

This goes hand in hand with the above goal of going self hosted. In order to grow my blog, I need to start knowing a lot more about SEO. I’ve learnt a lot of the basics such as; broken links, blog description length, key words, follow / nofollow links and link building, but it would be nice to expand on my knowledge and learn as much as I can over the next year.

 

5. Study

I really enjoy learning new things, last year I completed an undergraduate module in counselling skills. I am planning on completing a masters degree at some point in the next few years, but I need to consider how well I will be able to study while the children are young. I’ve settled on the idea of taking another short course in the meantime though, that will either help develop my blog, such as digital marketing or aid my writing skills such as creative writing. Most courses start in September, so I have plenty of time to decide which avenue to go down.

Goals for 2017 - Studying

 

6. Travel

This is quite a big one for this year, because I’m very conscious of the fact Bear is starting school next September. We have decided to explore as much of Europe as our limited funds will allow, so this summer we are taking a road trip to Copenhagen. We have also decided to take a week exploring Italy towards to end of Summer, where we hope to visit Rome, Florence and Venice. If finances allow, we would also like to take weekend city breaks across the continent. I love the idea of trips to Zurich (Switzerland), Barcelona (Spain), Vienna (Austria) and Lake Bled (Solvenia). Hopefully the growth of my blog over the next year will help make this happen.

Goals for 2017 - European travel plans

 

7. Get back into shape 

This is a huge thing for me this year, because over the past year I’ve been working really hard on repairing the muscle damage from my two pregnancies and two difficult labours. It has been a really long, slow road, only made slower by the dismissal of the problems by health professions for such a long period of time, but that is for another post. The important thing is that I finally got to see a doctor who took me seriously, referred me to right person and I’m now on a very steady road to recovery. It’s been so amazing to be able to exercise again and start shifting those lbs. I tend to structure my meal plans from the Joe Wicks cookbooks, try to do five of his HIIT workouts, 3 yoga sessions and a few abs workouts a week. It is a lot of hard work, but I can see my body changing quite quickly, which is really rewarding and keeps my motivation up.

 

 

So there they are, my ‘Goals for 2017’. What are your goals for this year? Let me know in the comments, on Twitter, Instagram, or on Facebook. You can also follow me on Pinterest.

8 thoughts

  1. Wow, you wrote a book?? That’s terrific. I hope you get it published.
    I hear about self hosting too and I agree, I want to find out more about it too. Good luck with your list.

  2. That all sounds great, especially the travel part, i went on a road trip with my friend last year, drove to Holland, then to Belgium, Germany, Italy and then ended in France. It was great fun, hope you have a good time. 🙂

  3. Great set of goals – might be worth speaking to Joanne Dewberry – she published a book through an agent but is doing her second on her own (@CharlieMoos)

  4. I totally agree about making a fresh start in February rather than January, with goals and lists. I prefer that too. I feel better if all the Christmas leftovers are finished before I look to the next thing! Good luck.

Leave a Reply

